UPSC CMS Exam 2022: Apply for 687 posts at – Check official notification, eligibility, selection process

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), on April 06, released notification for Combined Medical Services (CMS) 2022 on its website

The application process has started and will end on April 26, 2022. The online application can be withdrawn by the candidate from May 04, 2022, to May 10, 2022, till 6.00 PM. The commission aims to fill 687 vacancies.

As per the notification, the commission has scheduled the exam for July 17, 2022. The selection will be based on the candidates’ performance in the written exam and interviews. The applicants should constantly look for the latest updates and syllabus on the official website. The admit card will be released three days before the exam.

There are 314 vacancies for Medical Officer Post, 300 for Assistant Divisional Medical Officer Post, 3 for General Duty Medical Officer Post, and 70 for General Duty Medical Officer Gr-2 Post. The salary will be Rs 56,100/- in level 10 of the Pay Matrix under 7th CPC plus NPA and other admissible allowances as per rules (corresponding to pre-revised scale in PB–3 Rs15600-39100+GP Rs5400/-)

The candidate’s education qualification is; that they should pass written and practical parts of the final MBBS examination from a recognized University. There is an age limit of 32 years. The maximum limit for Junior Time Scale Posts in Central Health Services is 35 years. Age relaxation will be allowed for candidates belonging to the reserved category.

Citizens of India can apply for the exam along with subjects from Nepal or Bhutan and some Tibetan refugees. A person of Indian origin to permanently settle in India migrating from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, or East African Countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia can also apply.

The selection criteria for the candidate will be based on performance in the written exam and interview. The written exam will consist of two papers. Each paper will carry a maximum mark of 250, with two hours each for paper. After qualifying for the written exam, the candidates will be called for an Interview/ Personality Test conducted by the UPSC. This test carries 100 marks.

The exam will be conducted in the following:

  • Agartala
  • Ahmedabad
  • Aizwal
  • Bengaluru
  • Bareily
  • Bhopal
  • Chandigarh
  • Chennai
  • Cuttack
  • Dehradun
  • Delhi
  • Dharwad
  • Dispur
  • Gangtok
  • Hyderabad
  • Imphal
  • Itanagar
  • Jaipur
  • Jammu
  • Jorhat
  • Kochi
  • Kohima
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Panaji (Goa)
  • Patna
  • Port Blair
  • Prayagraj (Allahabad)
  • Raipur
  • Ranchi
  • Sambalpur
  • Shillong
  • Shimla
  • Srinagar
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Tirupati
  • Udaipur
  • Vishakhapatnam

Except for the centers in Chennai, Delhi, Dispur, Kolkata, and Ahmedabad, the rest of the centers will have a ceiling on the number of candidates allotted. The UPSC will have the authority to change the date and centers.

The interested candidates can apply through the online mode only. First, they have to visit the official website,, and click the apply online button.

To register for the exam, enter the details. After successful login, credentials are sent to candidates, which are to be used for logging in. Candidates can complete the application process by providing details such as educational qualification, center preference, etc. Then upload the documents and pay the fees.

It is Rs200 for the unreserved category, while female/SC/ST/PWD candidates do not have to pay application fees. Download the completed application form for future reference.



Leave a Comment